aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/block
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Rientjes2011-01-20 16:44:16 -0600
committerLinus Torvalds2011-01-20 19:02:05 -0600
commit6a108a14fa356ef607be308b68337939e56ea94e (patch)
tree1bf260572bd8f95ed867307a2bcf5d881c8ae4a6 /block
parent12fcdba1b7ae8b25696433f420b775aeb556d89b (diff)
downloadkernel-common-6a108a14fa356ef607be308b68337939e56ea94e.tar.gz
kernel-common-6a108a14fa356ef607be308b68337939e56ea94e.tar.xz
kernel-common-6a108a14fa356ef607be308b68337939e56ea94e.zip
kconfig: rename CONFIG_EMBEDDED to CONFIG_EXPERT
The meaning of CONFIG_EMBEDDED has long since been obsoleted; the option is used to configure any non-standard kernel with a much larger scope than only small devices. This patch renames the option to CONFIG_EXPERT in init/Kconfig and fixes references to the option throughout the kernel. A new CONFIG_EMBEDDED option is added that automatically selects CONFIG_EXPERT when enabled and can be used in the future to isolate options that should only be considered for embedded systems (RISC architectures, SLOB, etc). Calling the option "EXPERT" more accurately represents its intention: only expert users who understand the impact of the configuration changes they are making should enable it. Reviewed-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Acked-by: David Woodhouse <david.woodhouse@intel.com> Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@suse.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'block')
-rw-r--r--block/Kconfig2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/block/Kconfig b/block/Kconfig
index 6c9213ef15a..60be1e0455d 100644
--- a/block/Kconfig
+++ b/block/Kconfig
@@ -2,7 +2,7 @@
2# Block layer core configuration 2# Block layer core configuration
3# 3#
4menuconfig BLOCK 4menuconfig BLOCK
5 bool "Enable the block layer" if EMBEDDED 5 bool "Enable the block layer" if EXPERT
6 default y 6 default y
7 help 7 help
8 Provide block layer support for the kernel. 8 Provide block layer support for the kernel.