aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnd Bergmann2006-10-02 04:18:26 -0500
committerLinus Torvalds2006-10-02 09:57:23 -0500
commit6760856791c6e527da678021ee6a67896549d4da (patch)
tree31bf78dac3a2ea68282ae394aeedb15bc92ae7d7 /init/do_mounts_initrd.c
parent2453a3062d36f39f01302f9f1ad18e7a0c54fe38 (diff)
downloadkernel-6760856791c6e527da678021ee6a67896549d4da.tar.gz
kernel-6760856791c6e527da678021ee6a67896549d4da.tar.xz
kernel-6760856791c6e527da678021ee6a67896549d4da.zip
[PATCH] introduce kernel_execve
The use of execve() in the kernel is dubious, since it relies on the __KERNEL_SYSCALLS__ mechanism that stores the result in a global errno variable. As a first step of getting rid of this, change all users to a global kernel_execve function that returns a proper error code. This function is a terrible hack, and a later patch removes it again after the kernel syscalls are gone. Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata.hirokazu@renesas.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp> Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it> Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init/do_mounts_initrd.c')
-rw-r--r--init/do_mounts_initrd.c3
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/init/do_mounts_initrd.c b/init/do_mounts_initrd.c
index a06f037fa000..919a80cb322e 100644
--- a/init/do_mounts_initrd.c
+++ b/init/do_mounts_initrd.c
@@ -1,4 +1,3 @@
1#define __KERNEL_SYSCALLS__
2#include <linux/unistd.h> 1#include <linux/unistd.h>
3#include <linux/kernel.h> 2#include <linux/kernel.h>
4#include <linux/fs.h> 3#include <linux/fs.h>
@@ -35,7 +34,7 @@ static int __init do_linuxrc(void * shell)
35 (void) sys_open("/dev/console",O_RDWR,0); 34 (void) sys_open("/dev/console",O_RDWR,0);
36 (void) sys_dup(0); 35 (void) sys_dup(0);
37 (void) sys_dup(0); 36 (void) sys_dup(0);
38 return execve(shell, argv, envp_init); 37 return kernel_execve(shell, argv, envp_init);
39} 38}
40 39
41static void __init handle_initrd(void) 40static void __init handle_initrd(void)