dra7xx: Enabled UART-boot mode
authorMinal <minal.shah@ti.com>
Mon, 12 Aug 2013 12:13:18 +0000 (17:43 +0530)
committerSomnath Mukherjee <somnath@ti.com>
Tue, 13 Aug 2013 12:56:35 +0000 (18:26 +0530)
commitcd5e64edba31d5f95b5138be0e2871286d4e2bad
treef526d2756e2bcb74034ffaaf0dc28c86cb06c25f
parent748fe28ee979d4752005541a51f5a4b4324b46ba
dra7xx: Enabled UART-boot mode

UART-boot is considered as a peripheral boot.
For dra7xx Peripheral boot UART3 is used as default console.
The ROM code transfers MLO over UART3 in this case.
For Memory boot UART1 is used as default console.
Which UART to be used is decided by parameter CONS_INDEX.
For peripheral boot this should be set to 3.

Changes common to memory boot and peripheral boot:
--------------------------------------------------
boards.cfg:
Moved definition of CONS_INDEX in boards.cfg to make it configurable between
memory boot and peripheral boot.

spl.h:
Added #define BOOT_DEVICE_UART for UART boot device code.

Changes specific to peripheral boot:
------------------------------------
boards.cfg:
Added a build variant "dra7xx_evm_uart3" for dra7xx that sets UART to UART3 and
enables YMODEM support.

MLO->u-boot needs YMODEM support enabled. By default it is disabled.

Changes needed in addition to the above:
----------------------------------------
1. When building u-boot ensure usage of dra7xx_evm_uart3_config instead of
dra7xx_evm_config.

2. Please note that apart from the above changes CONFIG_SPL_TEXT_BASE should point to
base of OCMC_RAM1 for proper execution.
In memory boot mode ROM code transfers MLO to location OCMC_RAM1 base+offset
(CONFIG_SPL_TEXT_BASE = 0x40300000+350).
In peripheral boot mode ROM code transfers MLO to location OCMC_RAM1 base
(0x40300000).
Hence is is a must to change CONFIG_SPL_TEXT_BASE in include/configs/omap5_common.h
from 0x40300350 to 0x40300000

Signed-off-by: Minal <minal.shah@ti.com>
arch/arm/include/asm/arch-omap5/spl.h
boards.cfg
include/configs/dra7xx_evm.h