linux-ti33x-psp 3.2: for beaglebone set default Asm architecture to armv7-a
authorDenys Dmytriyenko <denys@ti.com>
Thu, 3 May 2012 21:20:32 +0000 (17:20 -0400)
committerDenys Dmytriyenko <denys@ti.com>
Fri, 11 May 2012 01:00:29 +0000 (21:00 -0400)
commit051482e3b03ba7e2d6cecc0d8f85cc3be22dc8b2
tree5aa30b89d8ef1229124a88383761e3474041e370
parent285aeaee513969ca7a79a344c75d0f590b722cb9
linux-ti33x-psp 3.2: for beaglebone set default Asm architecture to armv7-a

Beaglebone kernel needs to be built in Thumb2 mode to achieve fast boot
times. Unfortunately, that build is broken under newer binutils-2.22 with
the below Assembler error. The fix is to pass the specific -march=armv7-a
flag to the Assembler to make it work.

| arch/arm/boot/compressed/head.S: Assembler messages:
| arch/arm/boot/compressed/head.S:127: Error: selected processor does not support requested special purpose register -- `mrs r2,cpsr'
| arch/arm/boot/compressed/head.S:134: Error: selected processor does not support requested special purpose register -- `mrs r2,cpsr'
| arch/arm/boot/compressed/head.S:136: Error: selected processor does not support requested special purpose register -- `msr cpsr_c,r2'
| make[2]: *** [arch/arm/boot/compressed/head.o] Error 1
| make[1]: *** [arch/arm/boot/compressed/vmlinux] Error 2

Signed-off-by: Denys Dmytriyenko <denys@ti.com>
Acked-by: Koen Kooi <koen@circuitco.com>
recipes-kernel/linux/linux-ti33x-psp-3.2/beaglebone/0001-arm-boot-compressed-default-asm-arch-to-armv7-a.patch [new file with mode: 0644]
recipes-kernel/linux/linux-ti33x-psp_3.2.bb