Remoteproc: AM65xx: Remove all RSC_CARVEOUT entries
authorSuman Anna <s-anna@ti.com>
Thu, 18 Oct 2018 21:56:12 +0000 (16:56 -0500)
committerSam Nelson <sam.nelson@ti.com>
Tue, 23 Oct 2018 01:16:56 +0000 (21:16 -0400)
commit826fd03058f3dc29aec275625fa99f51f6843f9c
tree3f68ffeb68dcfd072e0317526a616b47ff07a776
parent0c242a1b5aa0b697c8ddbee8f1a8e7d72dbcc74f
Remoteproc: AM65xx: Remove all RSC_CARVEOUT entries

The R5F cores on AM65xx SoCs do not have an MMU, and so use
direct mapping of CPU memory to DDR memory. The Region Address
Translator (RAT) sub-module can provide linear address translations
but is not currently supported. The RSC_CARVEOUT entries are
currently being used to allocate memory on the Linux side for
various firmware image sections, but this was a temporary
workaround to leverage existing infrastructure on the Linux kernel
side.

Remove all the RSC_CARVEOUT entries and rely on the newly added
support on the Linux kernel side for fixed memory regions for
loading firmware images. The firmware image linker map sections
should fit the addresses defined through the reserved memory nodes
associated with the remoteproc device on the Linux kernel side.

NOTE:
The RSC_DEVMEM resource entry is retained for now until the
address translation logic in AM65xx VirtQueue code is fixed up,
since this resource type is not supported for remoteprocs without
any MMUs.

Signed-off-by: Suman Anna <s-anna@ti.com>
packages/ti/ipc/remoteproc/rsc_table_am65xx_r5f.h