SDOCM00077054 NameServer UG needs to document calling contexts
authorRamsey Harris <ramsey@ti.com>
Wed, 9 Sep 2015 22:47:09 +0000 (15:47 -0700)
committerAngela Stegmaier <angelabaker@ti.com>
Fri, 11 Sep 2015 15:30:58 +0000 (10:30 -0500)
Document the fact that NameServer_get cannot be called from Hwi
or Swi context. This was the main point of the bug report.

packages/ti/ipc/NameServer.h

index 1f8192ac793653e8c82e05a8e2cd750bea6bb90e..30e6e55507d6f4de0f48df78ffb70fb8a162b82a 100644 (file)
@@ -1,5 +1,5 @@
 /*
- * Copyright (c) 2012-2015, Texas Instruments Incorporated
+ * Copyright (c) 2012-2015 Texas Instruments Incorporated - http://www.ti.com
  * All rights reserved.
  *
  * Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without
@@ -437,6 +437,10 @@ Ptr NameServer_addUInt32(NameServer_Handle handle, String name, UInt32 value);
  *  count = NameServer_get(handle, "foo", &value, &len, queryList);
  *  @endcode
  *
+ *  This API should be called only from task context. It cannot be called
+ *  from Hwi or Swi context because it blocks waiting for a response from
+ *  the remote processor.
+ *
  *  The NameServer_getLocal() call can be used for searching
  *  the local table only.
  *