ARM: TIME: Enable sys_timer suspend/resume callback api's
authorVaibhav Hiremath <hvaibhav@ti.com>
Mon, 5 Mar 2012 05:23:00 +0000 (10:53 +0530)
committerSekhar Nori <nsekhar@ti.com>
Fri, 9 Mar 2012 09:29:15 +0000 (14:59 +0530)
commitae265fa78e8d242f2199505c68ebd10e355cbf43
tree93c8d8c6ead0d657cade561d07bad9d9e00044c6
parent5e82f2cc72432699112226b3d1426e8b7eeb130b
ARM: TIME: Enable sys_timer suspend/resume callback api's

In case of AM335x, we do not 32k_counter available, which
is actually being used as source timer in OMAP family of devices.
AM335x has 8 timer modules, 2 timer modules are in wakeup/always-on
domain, and out of these 2, 1 timer is secure timer; which leaves
SW to use only 1 timer which can run in off/suspend state. And
we need 2 timers, one for clockevent and another for clocksource.

The suspend/resume callbacks are available on sys_timer and
clocksource, but due to unknown reason clocksource callbacks are
not working. TODO: WE MUST DEBUG FURTHER ON THIS.

The sys_timer suspend/resume callback api's are supressed
under config option !defined(CONFIG_GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS),
enable it, required for AM335x suspend/resume funtionality.
Not sure, why it is not enabled and appliable to ARM arch, will
have to follow up it with community.

Signed-off-by: Vaibhav Hiremath <hvaibhav@ti.com>
arch/arm/kernel/time.c