roles-in-scrum: enhance product owner role
authorChase Maupin <chase.maupin@ti.com>
Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:48:16 +0000 (16:48 -0500)
committerFelipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
Fri, 12 Apr 2013 07:20:46 +0000 (10:20 +0300)
* Enhance the product owner role to make clear that the product
  owner is trying to maximize bang for buck.
* Added some verbage to introduce the idea of missing merge
  windows as technical debt and why upstreaming efforts may get
  higher priority within a sprint because of this.
    * This will need to be detailed out more.  Likely within
      chapter 6 where we can discuss the idea of every development
      item having a corresponding and immediate upstream item
      in the backlog to ensure the technical debt does not exceed
      the bandwidth of the team.

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
roles-in-scrum.tex

index f078b28cbe4b55f3e4d2928b8e790f10f4292620..b2804ffaaac2407f8b4975cdc12e9fdfcdcf79e4 100644 (file)
@@ -36,6 +36,14 @@ which tasks should be prioritized for this sprint. He or she also makes sure
 the Product Backlog is a living entity which can change at any time as long it
 doesn't touch the sprint.
 
+\paragraph{}
+The product owner seeks to maximize the 'bang for buck' by making sure that the
+highest priority backlog items deliver the greatest value for the amount of
+development effort.  Within \textit{LCPD} this may entail prioritizing the
+upstreaming of a feature over the development of a new feature because the
+technical debt of missing that window is greater than the value of the new
+feature.
+
 \section{The Team}
 \label{sec:the-team}