estimating: add paragraph about having a basic task
authorChase Maupin <chase.maupin@ti.com>
Wed, 15 May 2013 20:23:52 +0000 (15:23 -0500)
committerFelipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
Fri, 17 May 2013 14:52:08 +0000 (17:52 +0300)
* Add a paragraph explaining why having at least one basic task
  makes relative sizing easier.

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
estimating.tex

index 2815ff9d041f5b8f070572a243a23300f87988cd..ca3f0a7a19287766dea96edfa57c92e47454b81e 100644 (file)
@@ -35,6 +35,12 @@ it should take about 1500 shovels of dirt and 3 days.  It is much easier to
 describe something as harder or easier than some known task and how much
 harder or easier it seems to be.
 
+\paragraph{}
+When using a relative effort system it is usually a good idea to have
+at least one item of the simplest effort.  If you have that item to
+serve as a baseline of an easy story that can be completed with minimal
+effort, then you now have a starting point to compare all other tasks to.
+
 \paragraph{}
 Another reason to use story points instead of other metrics such as
 hours or ideal hours is that in these cases the metric itself starts to