ti-agile-manual/ti-agile-manual.git
8 years agoMakefile improvements
Felipe Balbi [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 13:33:52 +0000 (16:33 +0300)]
Makefile improvements

Output is a lot more terse and running make
multiple times won't remake if it's not necessary
to.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoScrum: fix typo
Felipe Balbi [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 07:22:18 +0000 (10:22 +0300)]
Scrum: fix typo

as Chase pointed out, it's spelled 'practices'.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: enhance ScrumMaster Role description
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:55:10 +0000 (16:55 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: enhance ScrumMaster Role description

* Make clear that the ScrumMaster role is not the person who
  assigns tasks to the team, but is a servant of the team helping
  to guide their efforts and enable their work.

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: enhance product owner role
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:48:16 +0000 (16:48 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: enhance product owner role

* Enhance the product owner role to make clear that the product
  owner is trying to maximize bang for buck.
* Added some verbage to introduce the idea of missing merge
  windows as technical debt and why upstreaming efforts may get
  higher priority within a sprint because of this.
    * This will need to be detailed out more.  Likely within
      chapter 6 where we can discuss the idea of every development
      item having a corresponding and immediate upstream item
      in the backlog to ensure the technical debt does not exceed
      the bandwidth of the team.

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: readability fixups
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:48:15 +0000 (16:48 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: readability fixups

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: Fix line length to 80 characters
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:48:14 +0000 (16:48 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: Fix line length to 80 characters

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoscope: fix up readability
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:07:25 +0000 (16:07 -0500)]
scope: fix up readability

* Small readibility changes

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agointroduction: fix typos
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:02:50 +0000 (16:02 -0500)]
introduction: fix typos

* Fix a couple of typos

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: the-sprint: add missing section about Burndown Charts
Felipe Balbi [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 10:20:03 +0000 (13:20 +0300)]
tamm: the-sprint: add missing section about Burndown Charts

with this patch, we're only missing chapters 6, 7 and 8
for our manual to reach v1.0-rc1. From that point on,
let's try to focus on improvements to the text before we
consider adding new chapters (we could discuss Continuous
Integration and Test-Driven Development, for example).

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: the sprint: lots of improvements
Felipe Balbi [Wed, 10 Apr 2013 11:48:19 +0000 (14:48 +0300)]
tamm: the sprint: lots of improvements

Finished 2 sections, just missing 'Sprint Burndown
Charts' which I'll get to later.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add a chapter to give an overview about Scrum
Felipe Balbi [Tue, 9 Apr 2013 09:30:37 +0000 (12:30 +0300)]
tamm: add a chapter to give an overview about Scrum

We have chapter for defining Roles in scrum and
explaining the sprint; clearly we need a chapter
to detail Scrum before going into those other two
items.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: no need for sections in Introduction
Felipe Balbi [Tue, 9 Apr 2013 09:30:18 +0000 (12:30 +0300)]
tamm: no need for sections in Introduction

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: introduction should be part of mainmatter
Felipe Balbi [Tue, 9 Apr 2013 08:22:05 +0000 (11:22 +0300)]
tamm: introduction should be part of mainmatter

if we come up with a preface, than that should
be part of frontmatter.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: introduction: remove bogus 'out'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 17:20:03 +0000 (20:20 +0300)]
tamm: introduction: remove bogus 'out'

improves that sentence quite a lot.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add matt porter as an author
Matt Porter [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 16:09:12 +0000 (12:09 -0400)]
tamm: add matt porter as an author

Add Matt Porter to author tags and header.

Signed-off-by: Matt Porter <mporter@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: also mention chapter about estimates
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 15:39:59 +0000 (18:39 +0300)]
tamm: also mention chapter about estimates

In chapter titled 'The Sprint' we gave a small
taste of what's to come on later chapters but
we didn't mention chapter 'Estimating'.

Fix it by mentioning that chapter as well.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: fix pdftitle attribute
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 15:34:00 +0000 (18:34 +0300)]
tamm: fix pdftitle attribute

pdftitle attribute from hyperref package didn't
match document's title, fix it.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: move Revision History and Introduction to frontmatter
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 12:23:17 +0000 (15:23 +0300)]
tamm: move Revision History and Introduction to frontmatter

that means Scope will be Chapter 1.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add a .gitignore file
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 12:11:46 +0000 (15:11 +0300)]
tamm: add a .gitignore file

ignore VIM's .swp files.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add a chapter about 'Estimating'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 12:10:37 +0000 (15:10 +0300)]
tamm: add a chapter about 'Estimating'

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: sections to 'Breaking Tasks'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 12:10:03 +0000 (15:10 +0300)]
tamm: sections to 'Breaking Tasks'

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: scope: couple more paragraphs
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:59:18 +0000 (14:59 +0300)]
tamm: scope: couple more paragraphs

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: finish our introduction
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:45:30 +0000 (14:45 +0300)]
tamm: finish our introduction

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: more text in 'roles in scrum'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:45:13 +0000 (14:45 +0300)]
tamm: more text in 'roles in scrum'

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: another paragraph to 'scope'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:44:56 +0000 (14:44 +0300)]
tamm: another paragraph to 'scope'

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: almost complete 'the sprint'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:44:24 +0000 (14:44 +0300)]
tamm: almost complete 'the sprint'

Also add a necessary picture.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add labels
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:43:22 +0000 (14:43 +0300)]
tamm: add labels

they're really good for cross-referencing.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add more packages
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:40:55 +0000 (14:40 +0300)]
tamm: add more packages

grahpicx, pgfplots, pgfplotstable.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add list of pictures
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:40:41 +0000 (14:40 +0300)]
tamm: add list of pictures

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: switch to alpha bibliography style
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:40:19 +0000 (14:40 +0300)]
tamm: switch to alpha bibliography style

looks a bit cooler :-)

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: rename main file
Felipe Balbi [Fri, 5 Apr 2013 10:08:17 +0000 (13:08 +0300)]
tamm: rename main file

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add some details about the Product Owner
Felipe Balbi [Thu, 4 Apr 2013 12:50:46 +0000 (15:50 +0300)]
tamm: add some details about the Product Owner

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: initial commit
Felipe Balbi [Thu, 4 Apr 2013 11:42:13 +0000 (14:42 +0300)]
tamm: initial commit

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>