ti-agile-manual/ti-agile-manual.git
8 years agothe-sprint: fix typos and enhance readability
Chase Maupin [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 15:02:01 +0000 (10:02 -0500)]
the-sprint: fix typos and enhance readability

* Some changes look larger because of enforcing 80 character
  limits.

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoAdd Chase as author
Felipe Balbi [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 14:54:55 +0000 (17:54 +0300)]
Add Chase as author

Chase has already sent quite a few patches and
can also be listed as author.

Acked-by: Chase Maupin <chase.maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: enhance the team role
Chase Maupin [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 13:21:54 +0000 (08:21 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: enhance the team role

* Added some more verbage to the team definition to draw attention
  to the self-directed aspect of the team as well as the trust
  and responsibility of the team member.  This is to help frame
  the power that the team is given within the readers mind and also
  impress upon them the responsibility that comes with that power,
  see SpiderMan for more details.

[ balbi@ti.com : s/port/part ]

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agointroduction: Add Scrum benefit
Chase Maupin [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 13:21:53 +0000 (08:21 -0500)]
introduction: Add Scrum benefit

* Add detail on an additional benefit of scrum for focused
  efforts during a sprint.

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoMakefile improvements
Felipe Balbi [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 13:33:52 +0000 (16:33 +0300)]
Makefile improvements

Output is a lot more terse and running make
multiple times won't remake if it's not necessary
to.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoScrum: fix typo
Felipe Balbi [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 07:22:18 +0000 (10:22 +0300)]
Scrum: fix typo

as Chase pointed out, it's spelled 'practices'.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: enhance ScrumMaster Role description
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:55:10 +0000 (16:55 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: enhance ScrumMaster Role description

* Make clear that the ScrumMaster role is not the person who
  assigns tasks to the team, but is a servant of the team helping
  to guide their efforts and enable their work.

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: enhance product owner role
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:48:16 +0000 (16:48 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: enhance product owner role

* Enhance the product owner role to make clear that the product
  owner is trying to maximize bang for buck.
* Added some verbage to introduce the idea of missing merge
  windows as technical debt and why upstreaming efforts may get
  higher priority within a sprint because of this.
    * This will need to be detailed out more.  Likely within
      chapter 6 where we can discuss the idea of every development
      item having a corresponding and immediate upstream item
      in the backlog to ensure the technical debt does not exceed
      the bandwidth of the team.

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: readability fixups
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:48:15 +0000 (16:48 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: readability fixups

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoroles-in-scrum: Fix line length to 80 characters
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:48:14 +0000 (16:48 -0500)]
roles-in-scrum: Fix line length to 80 characters

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agoscope: fix up readability
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:07:25 +0000 (16:07 -0500)]
scope: fix up readability

* Small readibility changes

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agointroduction: fix typos
Chase Maupin [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:02:50 +0000 (16:02 -0500)]
introduction: fix typos

* Fix a couple of typos

Signed-off-by: Chase Maupin <Chase.Maupin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: the-sprint: add missing section about Burndown Charts
Felipe Balbi [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 10:20:03 +0000 (13:20 +0300)]
tamm: the-sprint: add missing section about Burndown Charts

with this patch, we're only missing chapters 6, 7 and 8
for our manual to reach v1.0-rc1. From that point on,
let's try to focus on improvements to the text before we
consider adding new chapters (we could discuss Continuous
Integration and Test-Driven Development, for example).

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: the sprint: lots of improvements
Felipe Balbi [Wed, 10 Apr 2013 11:48:19 +0000 (14:48 +0300)]
tamm: the sprint: lots of improvements

Finished 2 sections, just missing 'Sprint Burndown
Charts' which I'll get to later.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add a chapter to give an overview about Scrum
Felipe Balbi [Tue, 9 Apr 2013 09:30:37 +0000 (12:30 +0300)]
tamm: add a chapter to give an overview about Scrum

We have chapter for defining Roles in scrum and
explaining the sprint; clearly we need a chapter
to detail Scrum before going into those other two
items.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: no need for sections in Introduction
Felipe Balbi [Tue, 9 Apr 2013 09:30:18 +0000 (12:30 +0300)]
tamm: no need for sections in Introduction

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: introduction should be part of mainmatter
Felipe Balbi [Tue, 9 Apr 2013 08:22:05 +0000 (11:22 +0300)]
tamm: introduction should be part of mainmatter

if we come up with a preface, than that should
be part of frontmatter.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: introduction: remove bogus 'out'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 17:20:03 +0000 (20:20 +0300)]
tamm: introduction: remove bogus 'out'

improves that sentence quite a lot.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add matt porter as an author
Matt Porter [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 16:09:12 +0000 (12:09 -0400)]
tamm: add matt porter as an author

Add Matt Porter to author tags and header.

Signed-off-by: Matt Porter <mporter@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: also mention chapter about estimates
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 15:39:59 +0000 (18:39 +0300)]
tamm: also mention chapter about estimates

In chapter titled 'The Sprint' we gave a small
taste of what's to come on later chapters but
we didn't mention chapter 'Estimating'.

Fix it by mentioning that chapter as well.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: fix pdftitle attribute
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 15:34:00 +0000 (18:34 +0300)]
tamm: fix pdftitle attribute

pdftitle attribute from hyperref package didn't
match document's title, fix it.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: move Revision History and Introduction to frontmatter
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 12:23:17 +0000 (15:23 +0300)]
tamm: move Revision History and Introduction to frontmatter

that means Scope will be Chapter 1.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add a .gitignore file
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 12:11:46 +0000 (15:11 +0300)]
tamm: add a .gitignore file

ignore VIM's .swp files.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add a chapter about 'Estimating'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 12:10:37 +0000 (15:10 +0300)]
tamm: add a chapter about 'Estimating'

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: sections to 'Breaking Tasks'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 12:10:03 +0000 (15:10 +0300)]
tamm: sections to 'Breaking Tasks'

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: scope: couple more paragraphs
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:59:18 +0000 (14:59 +0300)]
tamm: scope: couple more paragraphs

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: finish our introduction
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:45:30 +0000 (14:45 +0300)]
tamm: finish our introduction

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: more text in 'roles in scrum'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:45:13 +0000 (14:45 +0300)]
tamm: more text in 'roles in scrum'

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: another paragraph to 'scope'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:44:56 +0000 (14:44 +0300)]
tamm: another paragraph to 'scope'

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: almost complete 'the sprint'
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:44:24 +0000 (14:44 +0300)]
tamm: almost complete 'the sprint'

Also add a necessary picture.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add labels
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:43:22 +0000 (14:43 +0300)]
tamm: add labels

they're really good for cross-referencing.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add more packages
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:40:55 +0000 (14:40 +0300)]
tamm: add more packages

grahpicx, pgfplots, pgfplotstable.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add list of pictures
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:40:41 +0000 (14:40 +0300)]
tamm: add list of pictures

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: switch to alpha bibliography style
Felipe Balbi [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 11:40:19 +0000 (14:40 +0300)]
tamm: switch to alpha bibliography style

looks a bit cooler :-)

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: rename main file
Felipe Balbi [Fri, 5 Apr 2013 10:08:17 +0000 (13:08 +0300)]
tamm: rename main file

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: add some details about the Product Owner
Felipe Balbi [Thu, 4 Apr 2013 12:50:46 +0000 (15:50 +0300)]
tamm: add some details about the Product Owner

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
8 years agotamm: initial commit
Felipe Balbi [Thu, 4 Apr 2013 11:42:13 +0000 (14:42 +0300)]
tamm: initial commit

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>